Superconducting High-current Systems

Superconductor High-current Systems: ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE

Vision Electric Super Conductors (VESC) specializes in manufacturing and construction of superconductor-based high-current systems for applications in industry, power grids and science.

ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE are turn-key devices for practically loss-free transport of high-current power at low or medium voltage levels. The systems can be designed for direct or alternate currents ranging from 10 kA to over 200 kA and facilitate efficient energy transmission over any given distance.

Transmission of power is effected by means of one or more superconducting units. Standardized current leads  connect the superconductor system to the normal conducting power grid infrastructure. We provide turn-key superconducting systems complete with both the cryogenic equipment and measurement and control devices.

ICE®BAR systems are designed for industrial applications such as

  • large-scale electrolysis, graphitization, and electric steel plants
  • data centers and telecommunication facilities
  • feeders for e-mobility systems
  • generator busbars for power stations

 

ICE®CABLE systems offer substantial advantages for

  • power distribution networks
  • isolated networks and microgrids
  • grid connection feeders of wind farms and solar parks
  • energy storage with battery, fuel cell, or power-to-gas Systems

ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE set benchmarks in terms of material economy, energy efficiency, and the overall economy of energy transmission. The systems’ power carrying capacities surpass the ratings of conventional busbars by several orders of magnitude. Further characteristics of ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE are

  • zero voltage drop over length of busbar system
  • electric potential not moving on alternating operating currents
  • low operating costs
  • system dimension and weight reduced by orders of magnitude
  • no heat emissions
  • no external magnetic fields (appropriate system design provided)
  • comprehensive workers’ protection owing to complete encapsulation
  • no fire load
  • full electric shielding

Superconducting ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE systems consist of compact, standardized modules. Unlike conventional busbars or cables they require little construction effort and floorspace for installation in new or existing plant environments. Moreover, expenses for health and safety protection are significantly reduced since the superconducting systems are fully encapsulated and decoupled from the ambiance. ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE enable technologically conclusive and economical solutions for challenging conditions such as

  • insufficient floor space for installing a conventional transmission system
  • excessive construction expense (e.g. tunneling or special foundations) for a conventional transmission system
  • temperature-sensitive environment demanding high-capacity cooling to control heat emissions of a conventional transmission system
  • substantial changes on premises conditional to upgrading capacity of a conventional transmission System

    ICE®BAR and ICE®CABLE make industrial-scale applications of high-current power technology both easier and more efficient.

    Building on decades of international experience in high-current busbar construction we have become the leading technology partner for superconducting high-current power transmission. Today, Vision Electric Super Conductors is your one-stop competence center for a full range of services from systems engineering and manufacturing to construction, commissioning, and operation control. Please contact us: We are looking forward to discussing your application.

Supraleitende Stromschienensysteme

Supraleitende Hochstromsysteme: ICE®BAR und ICE®CABLE

Vision Electric Super Conductors (VESC) produziert und implementiert supraleiterbasierte Hochstromsysteme für industrielle, netztechnische und wissenschaftliche Anwendungsfelder.

ICE®BAR und ICE®CABLE-Systeme sind schlüsselfertige Anlagen, die hohe Ströme auf niedrigem und mittlerem Spannungsniveau praktisch verlustfrei transportieren. Die Systeme können für Gleichströme oder Wechselströme zwischen 10kA und über 200kA ausgelegt werden und ermöglichen eine effiziente Energieübertragung über beliebige Distanzen.

Der Energietransport erfolgt über eine oder mehrere supraleitende Stromsysteme. Standardisierte Stromzuführungen verbinden das supraleitende System mit dem normalleitenden Netzumfeld. Die Kälteversorgung sowie die komplette mess- und regeltechnische Peripherie zur Steuerung und Betriebsüberwachung des Systems sind Teil unserer Gesamtlösungen.

ICE®BAR-Systeme sind konzipiert für industrielle Einsatzfelder wie

  • großtechnische Elektrolysen, Graphitisierungsanlagen und Elektrostahlwerke
  • Datenzentren und Telekommunikations-Betriebsstellen
  • Zuführungen für E-Mobilitätssysteme
  • Generatorableitungen in Kraftwerken

ICE®CABLE-Systeme bieten entscheidende Vorteile in

  • Verteilnetzen
  • Inselnetzen und Microgrids
  • Netzanbindungen von Wind- und Solarparks
  • Energiespeichern mit Batterie, Brennstoffzellen oder Power-to-Gas-Systemen

ICE®BAR und ICE®CABLE setzen Benchmarks im Hinblick auf Materialeffizienz, Energieeffizienz und Gesamtwirtschaftlichkeit der Energieübertragung. Sie übertreffen die Stromtragfähigkeit konventioneller Stromschienen um mehrere Größenordnungen. Weitere wichtige Merkmale der supraleiterbasierten ICE®Technologie sind

  • null Spannungsabfall über die Länge des Stromschienensystems
  • stabile Potenziale, unabhängig vom Betriebsstrom
  • niedrige Betriebskosten
  • um Größenordnungen reduzierte Systemabmessungen und Systemgewichte
  • keine Wärmeemissionen
  • keine externen Magnetfelder (designabhängig)
  • umfassender Personenschutz aufgrund der vollständigen Kapselung
  • keine Brandlast
  • vollkommene elektrische Abschirmung

ICE®BAR- und ICE®CABLE-Systeme bestehen aus kompakten, standardisierten Modulen. Bauaufwand und Raumbedarf bei der Installation in neuen und bestehenden Anlagen sind gegenüber konventionellen Stromschienen oder Kabeln stark reduziert. Die gekapselten, von der Umgebung entkoppelten Systeme erfordern zudem weniger Sicherheits- und Arbeitsschutzaufwand. Sie sind eine wirtschaftlich und technisch überzeugende Lösung für Anwendungsfelder in denen

  • der verfügbare Raum für ein konventionelles Stromtransportsystem nicht ausreicht
  • ein konventionelles Stromtransportsystem besonderen baulichen Aufwand (Tunnelbauten, spezielle Fundamentierungen etc.) erfordern würde
  • für die Wärmelasten eines konventionellen Stromtransportsystems erhebliche Kälteleistungskapazitäten vorgehalten werden müssten
  • eine Kapazitätssteigerung des konventionellen Stromtransportsystems erhebliche Eingriffe in das Anlagenumfeld erfordern würde

ICE®BAR und ICE®CABLE machen die großtechnische Hochstromnutzung einfacher und effizienter.

Unser Team hat jahrzehntelange Erfahrung mit Hochstromschienenprojekten weltweit und ist heute der führende Technologiepartner für supraleiterbasierten Hochstromtransport. Vom Engineering, über die Systemfertigung und Montage bis zur Inbetriebnahme und Systemüberwachung bieten wir unseren Kunden volle Kompetenz aus einer Hand. Sprechen Sie mit uns über neue Anwendungen.