Current leads

Current leads link superconducting systems to the power grid which makes them an essential component of all superconductor applications. The current path between both electric levels consists of normal conducting material and serving as a hot-to-cold interface enables power transfer: One end of the current path is connected to the power grid which operates at or above ambient temperature while the other end is cooled down to the cryogenic operating temperature of the superconductor. Current leads routinely bridge temperature gaps in the order of 300°C and their design substantially affects both capital expenditure and operating cost of superconductor-based systems.

Standardized Design
VESC supplies ICE®LINK current leads for electric energy transfer between normal conducting power installations and superconducting systems which operate at temperatures of 77K and lower. ICE®LINK is the first current lead to combine current paths and their cryogenic periphery in one compact system. The standardized ICE®LINK design makes it easy to match current leads exactly to the requirements of specific superconductor applications.

Optimum Target Temperature
The current carrying capacity of modern superconductors increases at lower operating temperatures. Consequently, the most advantageous ratio of superconductor cost and cryogenic cost may be determined for individual applications. And with ICE®LINK, cryogenic performance is easily adjusted to the target temperatures required.

Wide Range of Applications
ICE®LINK current leads can be designed to provide current carrying capacities between 20 kA and 200 kA. Leads for higher currents are available on demand and VESC is happy to meet specific customer requirements regarding connector systems, target temperature control etc. ICE®LINK current leads are universally applicable for superconducting systems regardless of whether YBCO, MgB2-, NbTi, or Nb3Sn materials are utilized.

Energy efficient cryo-design
ICE®LINK current paths are cooled by an energy efficient multi-stage cryosystem which affords substantial power cost savings compared to conventional single-stage systems. The design builds on industry-tried and -tested cryogenic standard components. As a result, ICE®LINK meets most stringent requirements on availability, durability, and economy of service costs in all fields of application. Moreover, ICE®LINK offers easy integration in existing technical environments since current path and cryosystem form one compact unit.

Stromzuführungen

ICE®LINK
Die Verbindung zwischen dem supraleitenden System und dem normalleitenden Stromnetz ist ein zentraler Bestandteil aller Supraleiteranwendungen. Die Übertragung elektrischer Energie zwischen den beiden Ebenen erfolgt über einen Strompfad aus normalleitendem Material. Der Strompfad ist zugleich ein Warm-Kalt-Übergang: Während das warme Ende des Strompfads mit dem normalleitenden Netz verbunden ist, muss sein kaltes Ende die tiefe Betriebstemperatur des Supraleiters aufweisen. Stromzuführungen überbrücken Temperaturdifferenzen von 300°C und mehr. Ihre Bauweise hat erheblichen Einfluss auf die Investitions- und Betriebskosten supraleitender Systeme.

Standardisiertes Design
Mit ICE®LINK steht erstmals ein kompaktes Stromzuführungssystem zur Verfügung, das den Strompfad und die Kryotechnik für den Warm-Kalt-Übergang integriert. VESC liefert ICE®LINK-Stromzuführungen für den Stromtransfer zwischen normalleitenden Betriebsmitteln und supraleitenden Systemen mit Betriebstemperaturen im Bereich von 77 K und tiefer. Das standardisierte ICE®LINK-Design erlaubt eine genaue Abstimmung der Stromzuführung auf spezifische Anforderungen.

 

Optimale Zieltemperatur

Da die Stromtragfähigkeit moderner Supraleiter zunimmt, je tiefer die Betriebstemperatur gewählt wird, kann die günstigste Relation von Supraleiter- und Kältekosten für jede Anlage individuell bestimmt werden. Die Kälteleistung der ICE®LINK-Stromzuführungen lässt sich flexibel auf die gewünschte Zieltemperatur abstimmen.

Breites Nutzungsspektrum

ICE®LINK-Stromzuführungen können auf Stromstärken von 20 kA bis 200 kA ausgelegt werden. Höhere Kapazitäten sind bei Bedarf realisierbar. Spezifische Anforderungen etwa im Hinblick auf die verwendeten Anschlüsse oder die Zieltemperaturregelung lassen sich abbilden. ICE®LINK ist damit als Stromzuführung für alle supraleitenden Systeme einsetzbar, unabhängig davon ob sie auf YBCO-, MgB2-, NbTi- oder Nb3Sn basieren.

Energieeffiziente Kältetechnik

ICE®LINK verfügt über ein energieeffizientes mehrstufiges Kryosystem zur Abkühlung des Strompfads. Der Energiebedarf der Stromzuführung reduziert sich dadurch deutlich gegenüber konventionellen einstufigen Systemen. Das Design basiert auf industriebewährten kältetechnischen Standardkomponenten. ICE®LINK erfüllt dadurch in allen Anwendungsfeldern höchste Anforderungen an Verfügbarkeit, Lebensdauer und Wartungsökonomie. ICE®LINK fasst Strompfad und Kryosystem zu einer kompakten Einheit zusammen, die sich auch in bestehende Anlagenumfelder einfach integrieren lässt.